Episode #25 – ‘Isn’t It a Pity – The Beatles’ Unrealized Album’.

During a taped business meeting attended by three Beatles and Neil Aspinall while Ringo was away – likely in mid-September ‘69, a month before that in which John would say he wanted “a divorce” from the group – JL remarked, “Alright, let’s move on. We’ll do another album. We’ll all do four songs. How’s that? That’s fair.”

When the others showed no interest, he then said, “Alright, how about a Christmas single? Y’know, we finish it with a Christmas single. I think it’s a great idea — I’m in.”

That changed after John and Yoko performed in Toronto with Eric and Klaus. But what if the others had approved John’s initial suggestion and immediately returned to the studio? Between them they already had enough songs for another LP – songs that would end up being utilized for their own solo projects.

Here are the tracks selected by your co-hosts…


  • Let It Down
  • Look at Me
  • Another Day
  • Stormy Weather
  • Gimme Some Truth
  • Hear Me Lord
  • Maybe I’m Amazed
  • Oh My Love
  • Art of Dying
  • Child of Nature
  • All Things Must Pass
  • The Back Seat of My Car
  • Isn’t It a Pity
  • Suicide


  • Gimme Some Truth
  • Maybe I’m Amazed
  • Art of Dying
  • Child of Nature
  • All Things Must Pass
  • Another Day
  • Isn’t It a Pity
  • Oh My Love
  • When Every Song is Sung
  • Every Night
  • Beautiful Girl
  • Look at Me
  • The Back Seat of My Car
  • What is Life

Featuring a recording of ‘Maybe I’m Amazed’ by Mark & Rosalie Cunningham, produced for this show.

Episode #24 – ‘American Music ’63 – The Year Before The Beatles’

There’s a notion that American popular music was in the doldrums when The Beatles first touched down in New York City. The original rock ‘n’ rollers had either gone soft (Elvis Presley), gone to jail (Chuck Berry), gone into the church (Little Richard), gone with their 13-year-old cousin (Jerry Lee Lewis) or gone from this world (Buddy Holly and Eddie Cochran). In their place: a bunch of smiling, clean-cut, parent-friendly twisters and crooners, performing antiseptic pop material for the middle-class white market.

There’s truth to this. But it’s far from the whole truth. The American music charts during the year preceding the ‘British Invasion’ were actually packed with a broad range of artists and eclectic variety of songs—many of them now regarded as solid-gold classics that underscore the ingenuity of their highly talented creators. Some would be swept aside by the coming tidal wave; others would continue to flourish—although in a very different world to that characterizing the first half of the decade.

Featured Tracks:

  • ‘He’s So Fine’ (The Chiffons)
  • ‘Sugar Shack’ (Jimmy Gilmer and the Fireballs)
  • ‘Blowin’ in the Wind’ (Peter, Paul and Mary)
  • ‘If I Had a Hammer’ (Trini Lopez)
  • ‘Hello Muddah, Hello Faddah’ (Allan Sherman)
  • ‘Pipeline’ (The Chantays)
  • ‘Sukiyaki’ (Kyu Sakamoto)
  • ‘The Night Has a Thousand Eyes’ (Bobby Vee)
  • ‘You’ve Really Got a Hold on Me’ (The Miracles)
  • ‘Pride and Joy’ (Marvin Gaye)
  • ‘Fingertips’ (Little Stevie Wonder)
  • ‘I Will Follow Him’ (Little Peggy March)
  • ‘Louie Louie’ (The Kingsmen)
  • ‘The End of the World’ (Skeeter Davis)
  • ‘Who Do You Love?’ – Ronnie Hawkins
  • ‘Can’t Get Used to Losing You’ (Andy Williams)
  • ‘Sally Go ’Round the Roses’ (The Jaynetts)
  • ‘Devil in Disguise’ (Elvis Presley)
  • ‘In Dreams’ (Roy Orbison)
  • ‘It’s My Party’ (Leslie Gore)
  • ‘Judy’s Turn to Cry’ (Leslie Gore)
  • ‘Walk Like a Man’ (The Four Seasons)
  • ‘My Boyfriend’s Back’ (The Angels)
  • ‘One Fine Day’ (The Chiffons)
  • ‘Wipe Out’ (The Surfaris)
  • ‘Surfin’ U.S.A.’ (The Beach Boys)
  • ‘Another Saturday Night’ (Sam Cooke)
  • ‘On Broadway’ (The Drifters)
  • ‘Ring of Fire’ (Johnny Cash)
  • ‘Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right’ (Bob Dylan)
  • ‘Da Doo Ron Ron’ (The Crystals)
  • ‘Be My Baby’ (The Ronettes)
  • ‘From Me to You’ (Del Shannon)

Episode #23 – ‘Multicoloured Mirrors – The Beatles Christmas Records’

At the suggestion of press officer Tony Barrow, The Beatles ended their first year of national fame by thanking the members of their UK fan club with a flexi-disc single containing a specially recorded Christmas message. So began an annual tradition that not only endured as long as they were together, but also mirrored and encapsulated their career: from the innocent fun of 1963 and 1964 to the biting cynicism of 1965, offbeat creativity of 1966, psychedelic surrealism of 1967, disparate contributions of 1968 and complete fragmentation of 1969. What starts off joyous ends up sad, with much of life in between – and guest appearances by George Martin, Mal Evans, Victor Spinetti, Yoko Ono and Tiny Tim.


  • “Christmas Time (Is Here Again)”
  • 1963: “The Beatles’ Christmas Record”
  • 1964: “Another Beatles Christmas Record” + outtakes
  • 1965: “The Beatles’ Third Christmas Record” + outtakes
  • 1966: “The Beatles’ Fourth Christmas Record: Everywhere It’s Christmas” + outtakes
  • 1967: “Christmas Time Is Here Again!”
  • 1968: “The Beatles’ 1968 Christmas Record”
  • 1969: “The Beatles’ Seventh Christmas Record: Happy Christmas 1969”
  • Dora Bryan – “All I Want for Christmas is a Beatle”